Tortoise Tuff

Sedgefield Striders Athletic Club is very proud to host their 25th Tortoise Tuff on Saturday, 10 August 2024.

Entries open… to be advised

How to enter:

Information to be provided

Download the 2024 entry form:

Information to be provided.


All enquiries:  Derrick Main, Secretary 082 716 7448

Entries closing… to be advised


We regret no late entries will be entertained on race day. No up or downgrades either. Late entries with a fee of R20.00 will be accepted on Friday 9th August 2024.


To be advised


This years’ Tuff was dedicated to Brian Merrills a much-loved founder member of the Sedgefield Striders.

It was the 17th year that Sedgefield Striders hosted this race and the club is thrilled to record a total of 545 entries across all four distances. It was the third year that Sedgefield Striders has made use of a pre-entry and electronic timing system (first year that ASWD IPICO team did the electronic timing).

The 10km distance attracted 170 participants and served as trials to select a race walking team to represent Athletics SWD at the South African Road Race Walking Championships later this year. Congratulations to Hannes van Rooyen of Sedgefield Striders the first 10km Male walker who came in with a time of 00:59:26 and Annamarie Harris from New Balance Multisport Club Eden the first Lady walker who came in with a time of 00:08:55.  Gershwill Jacobs from Nedbank Running Club won the 10km run open category for men with a new record time of 00:31:10.  Merida Leen from Mossel Bay Harriers won the 10km run open category for women with a new record time 00:38:41.

The 30km or the Big Tuff is notorious for its varied route and this year was no exception! The route led 171 athletes along single track, tarred road, gravel and beach.  Annatjie Botes of Nedbank Running Club showed her worth when she came in with a time 02:16:27.  George Ntshiliza from Nedbank Running Club Port Elizabeth claimed the win with a new record time of 01:41:32.  Aletta van Rensburg from Outeniqua Harriers the first lady walker came in with a time of 03:43:16 with Nico Bobotyane of the SANDF was the first male walker with a time of 03:44:20.

The 21km Goukamma Trail Run proved very popular again in 2014 with 64 trail runners completing the event.  Melikaya Msizi of Knysna Marathon Club came in with a time of 01:36:53 and Lizelle Keet of New Balance Multisport Club Eden came in with a time of 02:09:36 leaving Chantal Nienaber’s time of 01:52:44 set during the 2014 event in tact.

The Tortoise Tuff wouldn’t be the success it is without the fun run! This attracted 110 runners and walkers, school children from surrounding schools, parents, youngsters and parents pushing youngsters! All finishers received a medal and refreshments.

Thank you to all the athletes, Sedgefield Striders, the Organising Team and Race Convenor Paul van der Spuy. Special thanks to all our generous sponsors!

See our Gallery for 2014 Tortoise Tuff photos – courtesy of Luana Laubscher, Barry Hardie and Jennifer Brummer.

See results for a full list of Category Winners.

Race Results

Race results  can be viewed by accessing the ASWD website Athletics SWD

Results of the Tortoise Tuff are posted on our website as soon as they are available.

Tortoise Tuff

TTUFF 2016 results category winners Tortoise-Tuff-Provisional-Results2016

Tortoise Tuff 2014 Final Results including Category Winners

Copy of Tortoise Tuff Results 2015

TTUFF 2014 results sheet FINAL

Final Results 10km Run 2013

Final Results 10km Walk 2013

Final Results 21km Trail Run 2013

Final Results 30km Run 2013

Final Results 30km Walk 2013

Tortoise Tuff 2013 Category Winners

Tortoise Tuff 10km 2012
Tortoise Tuff 18.5km 2012
Tortoise Tuff 30km 2012

Tortoise Tuff 30k run 2011
Tortoise Tuff 30k walk 2011
Tortoise Tuff 10k run 2011
Tortoise Tuff Trail run 2011

Tortoise Tuff 30km race 2010
Tortoise Tuff 10km race 2010